Morgan named Eberly Faculty Fellow

Paul L. Morgan, professor of education and demography, has been named recipient of the Harry and Marion Royer Eberly Faculty Fellowship in Education in Penn State's College of Education. His six-year term began July 1.

The Eberly Faculty Fellowship provides supplementary funds to an outstanding member of the College of Education to assist the holder in teaching, research and public service.

"Dr. Morgan richly deserves recognition as the Eberly Faculty Fellow," said David H. Monk, dean of the College of Education. "The purpose of the fellowship is to support the academic work of its holder, and Dr. Morgan's work on early risk factors for learning difficulties and interventions that may help young children experience greater academic success in the classroom certainly merits that level of support."

Morgan joined the College of Education faculty in 2004. He earned his bachelor of arts in philosophy and history at the University of Oregon; his master's in teaching in special and elementary education from the Curry School of Education at the University of Virginia; and his doctorate in education and human development (special education) from the George Peabody College of Vanderblit University. He directs Penn State’s Center for Educational Disparities Research.

“I’m thrilled to be awarded the Eberly Faculty Fellowship," Morgan said. "The fellowship will provide valuable support to a number of research projects that should help policymakers better understand why some children are especially likely to struggle academically as they attend U.S. elementary and middle schools."

The Eberly Faculty Fellowship is made possible thanks to the generosity of Harry and Marion Eberly. Harry Eberly served as the chair of the college's Grand Destiny Campaign Dean's Development Council and provided invaluable leadership for the college's fundraising efforts. 

The couple established three endowments to benefit both the students and faculty of the College of Education at Penn State: The Harry and Marion Royer Eberly Faculty Fellowship in Education; The Harry and Marion Royer Eberly Scholars, a merit-based award for the most talented students planning careers in education; and The Harry and Marion Royer Eberly Endowed Professorship in Education. These gifts have enabled the College of Education to further its important contributions to the study of educational policy, civic education and student achievement.